Nomination Deadline 6/21 for Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Awards & Retiree of the Year Awards

The deadline to nominate an outstanding Staff member for the Chancellor’s Excellence Award is this Friday, June 21st!  That is also the deadline to nominate a deserving retiree for this year’s Retiree of the Year Award (see details near end of post, below).

Each year the Chancellor awards $1,000 each to three outstanding UMSL staff members for the Chancellor’s Excellence Awards. These awards are intended to recognize their contributions to the University. One recipient comes from each of the three staff categories:

• administrative/professional
• office/technical
• service/maintenance

A committee, appointed by the Chancellor, reviews nominations and recommends one individual from each category to receive an award. All staff members, except those who have won the award in the past three years, are eligible for nomination.

Complete and submit the online nomination form by June 21, 2019. Recipient’s will be announced at the Chancellor’s State of the University Address.

As a nominator, you will be entered into a random drawing as our thank you!

Please nominate employees who consistently demonstrate professionalism and reflect our core values:
Trust/Integrity – Respectful interactions, serving others, building goodwill, transparency, and accountability.
Inclusion- Intentionally creates an inclusive, equitable community.
Innovation- Drives change for the purpose of the greater good.
Access- Keeps our campus accessible and removes barriers for individuals that makes the environment better for all of us.
Success- Inspires and empowers others to reach their goals, break through barriers and achieve their goals.
Engagement- Open minded, inviting and solution-oriented. Forges collaborative partnerships on campus and in the community.

2018 Chancellor’s Excellence Awardees:   (From left) Theda Renee Oliver, Gaiyan Zhang, Robert Wilson, Vicki L. Sauter, Grace Chaudet Derda, Linda Wells-Glover and Timothy Makubuya each received awards from Chancellor Tom George (right) at Wednesday’s Faculty and Staff Recognition ceremony after the State of the University Address. Not pictured were awardees Kathleen Butterly Nigro and Henry L. Belton. (Photos by August Jennewein)

Retiree of the Year Award

The UMSL campus, and the UMSL Retirees Association, are beginning an annual recognition of retirees who have made extraordinary contributions to the campus and/or community since retirement through involvement in volunteer service to the University, civic and welfare services, career and professional activities, or other noteworthy accomplishments. Achievements prior to retirement are not considered in the selection process for the Retiree of the Year awardees. Nominations may be submitted using the online nomination form.

The deadline to submit nominations has been extended to this Friday, June 21st (11:59 p.m.).

Two awards will be given per year, one for a retired faculty member and one for a retired staff member. Each award consists of a $500 stipend and a plaque. The awardees will be announced at the Chancellor’s State of the University Address.

Criteria for Candidates:

• Nominees must have retired from UMSL before January 1, 2014.
• Recipients should be able to attend the annual Chancellor’s State of the University Address to receive the award.
• Nominees must be fully retired from UMSL and not in any paid University position since January 1, 2014.

The UMSL Retiree Association Board of Directors will review the nomination and select awardees based on information provided. To nominate a worthy retiree for this important award, please complete the online nomination form.

If you need assistance, please contact Kathleen Falcon at X4130.