Provost Marie Mora announces 34 faculty promotions for the 2020-21 academic year

Faculty promotions

(Photo collage by August Jennewein)

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Marie Mora announced promotions for 34 tenure and non-tenure track faculty members at the University of Missouri–St. Louis ahead of the 2020-21 academic year. The promotions will take effect on Aug. 1.

“We are so pleased and proud of these amazing faculty members who are being promoted here at the University of Missouri – St. Louis,” Mora said. “Their promotions reflect the culmination of many years of hard work and dedication to transforming the lives of our students and the St. Louis region. It is important to note that despite COVID-19, these faculty deserve to be recognized and celebrated at this point in time.

“For our faculty who were just awarded tenure and promotion to the rank of associate professor, I send a special congratulations. Their inspiring achievements in teaching, research and creative works, and service have propelled them to the next level in the academy, and we expect they will continue to advance for many years to come.”

Eleven faculty members received tenure and promotions to associate professor, nine more earned the rank of full professor, and 14 non-tenure track faculty members also received promotions, including three to full teaching professor.


Tenure and promotion to associate professor

Adam Boessen, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Amber Candela, Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

Billy Dunaway, Department of Philosophy

Yuguo Liao, Department of Political Science

Kara Moskowitz, Department of History

Lauren Obermark, Department of English

Jianli Pan, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Seemantini Pathak, Department of Global Leadership and Management

James Shuls, Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

Jacqueline Thompson, Department of Communication and Media

Stephanie Van Stee, Department of Communication and Media

Promotion to professor

Steven Bruce, Department of Psychological Sciences

Anne Fish, College of Nursing

Alice Hall, Department of Communication and Media

Minsoo Kang, Department of History

Haitao Li, Department of Supply Chain and Analytics

Stephanie Merritt, Department Psychological Sciences

Roxanne Vandermause, College of Nursing

Laura Westhoff, Department of History and Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

Chung Wong, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Promotion to associate teaching professor

Timothy Abeln, Department Language and Cultural Studies

Michael Behle, Department of Art and Design

Bruce Hamper, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Jennifer Nolan, Department of Anthropology and Archaeology

Brian Speicher, Department of Economics

Keiko Ueda,  Department of Language and Cultural Studies

Diane O’Brien, School of Social Work

Courtney McDermott, School of Social Work

Ann Torrusio, Pierre Laclede Honors College

Perry Drake, Department of Marketing

Promotion to associate clinical professor

Steve Bourne, Department of Psychological Sciences

Promotion to teaching professor

Peter Acsay, Department of History

Maria Balogh, Department of Language and Cultural Studies

Linda Wells-Glover, School of Social Work


Short URL: