Provost Steven Berberich announces 22 faculty promotions for the 2023-24 academic year

A collage of photos of faculty members who received promotions ahead of the 2023-24 academic year

Twenty-two faculty members have earned promotions beginning in the 2023-24 academic year. Not pictured: Christopher Schott, Ilgin Sager, John Trevathan and Waldemar Rohloff. (Photo collage by Jeff Rivet)

By Michael Moore

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Steven Berberich announced promotions for 22 tenure and non-tenure track faculty members at the University of Missouri–St. Louis ahead of the 2023-24 academic year. The promotions will take effect on Sept. 1.

“I am delighted to announce the promotions of 22 faculty members. These individuals are to be lauded for their work to transform the lives of people in our St. Louis community and beyond,” Berberich said.

“I would like to especially recognize the faculty members who have been awarded tenure. This tremendous achievement in their careers acknowledges superlative teaching, research and service. I eagerly anticipate seeing them continue to advance toward full professorship and make even greater contributions in the years to come.”

Nine tenured professors were promoted to associate professor. Among the non-tenure track faculty, four individuals were promoted to full teaching professor, eight to associate teaching professor, and one to associate clinical professor.


Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Badri Adhikari, Department of Computer Science

Emily Brown, Department of Education Sciences and Professional Programs

Michael Gearhart, School of Social Work

Sheila Grigsby, College of Nursing

Andrea Hupman, Department of Supply Chain and Analytics

Shea Kerkhoff, Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

Timothy Makubuya, Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

Lauren Olin, Department of Philosophy

Florian Sichling, School of Social Work


Promotion to associate teaching professor

Jamillah Boyd, Department of Information Systems and Technology

Rachel Craft, Department of Sociology

Matthew Kimbrell, Department of English

Katherine O’Daniels, Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

Christopher Schott, Department of English

Ilgin Sager, Department of Mathematics, Physics, Astronomy and Statistics

Julie Smith Sodey, Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

John Trevathan, Department of Languages and Cultural Studies

Promotion to associate clinical professor

Patrick Stark, College of Optometry

Promotion to teaching professor

Jill Alexander, Department of Communication and Media

Vanessa Loyd, College of Nursing

Waldemar Rohloff, Department of Philosophy

Diane Saleska, College of Nursing


Short URL: