Alumni, faculty receive MSCPA Impact Awards

Jennifer Reynolds-Moerhle (left), Sandra Van Trease and Warner Baxter were honored with awards from the Missouri Society of Certified Public Accountants.

Three members of the University of Missouri–St. Louis family were honored last week with Impact Awards from the Missouri Society of Certified Public Accountants.

Warner Baxter, BSBA 1983, received the Outstanding CPA in Business and Industry Award; Jennifer Reynolds-Moerhle, associate professor of accounting at UMSL, was honored with the Outstanding Educator Award; and Sandra Van Trease, BSBA 1982, earned a 2011 Women to Watch award for Experienced Leaders.

Baxter is president and chief executive officer of AmerenUE, the largest electric utility company in Missouri. He’s been with the company since 1995. His duties include overseeing nuclear operations, power operations, regulatory and legislative affairs for Missouri, and energy delivery and customer service for AmerenUE.

Reynolds-Moerhle is an expert in financial reporting issues and derivatives and financial instruments reporting issues. She has published extensively on accounting issues. She received the 2001 University of Missouri New Faculty Teaching Scholar award, 2003 College of Business Administration Anheuser-Busch Excellence in Teaching Award and 2004 Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers.

Van Trease is group president for BJC HealthCare. She is responsible for the overall business and growth strategies and to ensure outstanding clinical quality, operating efficiencies and financial stability. She also serves as a member of the senior management team at BJC HealthCare.

The MSCPA Impact Awards recognize the efforts of CPAs who go above and beyond the call of duty to advance the profession. The Outstanding CPA in Business & Industry Award recognizes the achievements of members working in industry. The Outstanding Educator Award honors the achievements of members who are full-time accounting educators distinguished for classroom excellence. The Women to Watch Award for Experienced Leaders recognizes an established women in the field who is making a difference.


Short URL: