At the 21st annual Founders Dinner on Oct. 2, Distinguished Alumni Awards were presented to (from left) Jason Jan, Daniel W. Isom II, Terrence J. Elmendorf, Randi L'Hommedieu, Judith A. Marth and Steven R. Sullivan. (Photo by August Jennewein)

The University of Missouri–St. Louis Alumni Association honored six alumni at the university’s Founders Dinner on Oct. 2.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is traditionally presented to alumni whose extraordinary, long-term careers and significant roles in community service set them apart from their peers. This year, the association added the Outstanding Young Alumni Award category.

The recipients are: Terrence J. Elmendorf (BSBA 1986, MBA 1995), senior director, international finance and contracts for Boeing; Col. Daniel W. Isom II (BS 1994, MA 2003, PhD 2008 criminology and criminal justice), chief of police, St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department; Randi L’Hommedieu (BM 1974), director and professor of music education, School of Music, Central Michigan University in Mount Pleasant; Judith A. Marth (BSBA 1975), director, IT Global Services and Support and chief logistics integration officer for The Boeing Company; Steven R. Sullivan (BSBA 1981, MBA 1994), chairman and president of Ameren Energy Resources; and Jason Jan (BSBA 1999), founder and owner of FroYo Premium Frozen Yogurt.

Jan is the first recipient of the Outstanding Young Alumni Award.

The nomination process for the 2013 awards is under way. Any individual or organization may nominate an alumnus or alumna of the university. An association committee reviews the submissions and selects the recipients. Nominations are being accepted until May 15.

Visit or call the Office of Alumni Relations at 314-516-6453 for nomination forms and additional information on the UMSL Alumni Association.

Marisol Ramirez

Marisol Ramirez