Governor releases funding for business building to be named for Anheuser-Busch

by | May 6, 2015

Jay Nixon announced the release of $10 million in state matching funds for the construction of the building, which is expected to begin this fall.
Nixon press conference

Gov. Jay Nixon on Wednesday announced the release of $10 million in state matching funds for the construction of UMSL’s new College of Business Administration building. (Photo by August Jennewein)

A strategically important building for the College of Business Administration at the University of Missouri–St. Louis is now a reality because of significant contributions by private donors and taxpayers.

Nearly 300 people gathered at UMSL’s Marguerite Ross Barnett Memorial Plaza on Wednesday as Gov. Jay Nixon announced the release of $10 million in state matching funds for the construction of the building.

The allocation will be used as a 50/50 match along with $10 million in private and corporate funds raised by UMSL to construct a new 50,000-square-foot building. The project is expected to begin this fall.

“They did their part, now we’re doing our part,” Nixon said. “This project exemplifies UMSL’s commitment to giving its students the skills and experience they need to compete for the best jobs in the global economy. That means quality instruction, state-of-the-art technology and modern facilities that are conducive to learning and collaboration.”

The building will be constructed northeast of Express Scripts Hall along West Drive and named Anheuser-Busch Hall in honor of a lead $2.5-million gift from Anheuser-Busch Foundation.

“All of us at Anheuser-Busch are honored to be part of the team that’s making this building a reality for the students at UMSL,” said Margarita Flores, vice president for community affairs at Anheuser-Busch. “As the global leader in brewing, our dream is to be the best beer company, bringing people together for a better world. And supporting higher education is a big, big part of that dream.”

Anheuser-Busch Hall will streamline all the current business school operations, offering students and faculty a centralized place to collaborate, interact and share ideas within their specific disciplines. It will feature cutting-edge classrooms, modern computer laboratories, faculty offices, seminar and conference rooms, and undergraduate and graduate advising areas. Currently, students and faculty are scattered across five buildings on the UMSL campus.

“Our university’s alumni and friends deserve a great deal of credit for helping us get this project off the ground with their generous donations,” UMSL Chancellor Tom George said. “Now, thanks to Gov. Jay Nixon and the Missouri Legislature, we can break ground on the business building we’ve long needed to ensure we continue providing this state with excellent business leaders.”

UMSL’s College of Business Administration was established in 1967. The college regularly receives accolades from U.S. News & World Report and other publications. The college is the only such program in St. Louis with accreditation by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business in both business and accounting.

“We have over 28,000 graduates, most of whom remain in the region and contribute to the economy,” said Dean Charles Hoffman. “This new building will further enable us to offer the latest teaching technologies to benefit our growing student body and enhance the college’s already strong reputation as one of only 182 business schools worldwide with AACSB accreditation in both business and accounting.”

Among the many notable alumni of the college are:

  • Joe Gorder, BSBA 1979, chief executive officer, Valero Energy
  • George Paz, BSBA 1982, chief executive officer, Express Scripts
  • Warner Baxter, BSBA 1983, chief executive officer, Ameren
  • Kevin Mansell, BS accounting 1975, chief executive officer, Kohl’s Corporation
  • Sandra Van Trease, BSBA 1982, group president, BJC HealthCare

Twenty-eight companies and individuals gave $100,000 or more to help make this building a reality. Those donors include:

  • Warner and Cynthia Baxter
  • Patrick and Christina Chunn
  • Wayne and Michelle DeVeydt
  • Norman and Lauralea Eaker
  • Scott and Debra Givens
  • Charles and Maureen Hoffman
  • Earl and Nancy Horton
  • Myles and Elaine Kelly
  • Robert and Andrea McVey
  • Thomas and Karen Migneron
  • David and Carol Otto
  • Joseph and Florine Porter
  • Kirk and Maureen Richter
  • John Sabourin
  • Thomas Santel and Mary Pat Cadice-Santel
  • Peter and Maria Schick
  • Joseph and Mary Stieven
  • Steve and Mary Ellen Sullivan
  • Sandra and Virgil Van Trease
  • Ameren Missouri
  • Anheuser-Busch Foundation
  • Boeing Company
  • Edward D. Jones and Company Foundation
  • Edward Jones
  • Express Scripts
  • Express Scripts Foundation
  • Scottrade Inc.
  • US Bank

Visit the governor’s website for the official news release. Click here to view Chancellor Tom George’s remarks.

Media Coverage:
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
St. Louis Business Journal
Associated Press (via KMOX)
KTVI (Channel 2)
St. Louis Public Radio
KPLR (Channel 11)

The UMSL Experience

Jen Hatton

Jen Hatton