St. Louis Public Radio team earns kudos, regional awards

St. Louis Public Radio | 90.7 KWMU, a service of the University of Missouri­–St. Louis, has garnered five 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards along with additional honors in recognition of journalistic excellence.

The station announced the top marks in late April, with the awards and high praise coming in a wide variety of categories.

SLPRawards-425The Edward R. Murrow Awards are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association and recognize the top achievements in electronic journalism produced around the world by radio, television and online news organizations. St. Louis Public Radio is part of the Region 5 – Large Market division, which includes Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska.

The outlet’s winning 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award entries are as follows:

Overall Excellence in Large Market Radio

News Documentary
“We Live Here: Why wasn’t race a priority before things unraveled at Mizzou?”
Tim Lloyd and Kameel Stanley

Reporting: Hard News
“Ten years later, a soldier’s family still grieves and questions the Army’s version of her death”
Mary Delach Leonard

Writing in Large Market Radio
Stephanie Lecci

Website in Large Market Radio

For the entire list of Edward R. Murrow Award Winners visit

Members of St. Louis Public Radio’s team were also recognized as 2016 Missouri Broadcasters Association Award Finalists. The honored entries are as follows:

Breaking News
“Missouri Auditor Tom Schweich’s Suicide shakes the GOP”
Jason Rosenbaum and Jo Mannies

“Rams get permission to leave St. Louis”
Jason Rosenbaum

Feature Reporting
“Washington University medical students honor their first patients”
Willis Ryder Arnold

Visit the St. Louis Public Radio | 90.7 KWMU website for more “News That Matters” in the St. Louis region and beyond.


Short URL: