Provost Kristin Sobolik announces 25 faculty promotions taking effect before the next academic year

Faculty promotions

(Photo collage by August Jennewein)

Twenty-five tenure and non-tenure track faculty members at the University of Missouri–St. Louis have earned promotions ahead of the 2019-20 academic year.

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Kristin Sobolik announced the promotions, which are effective Aug. 1.

“We are pleased to celebrate with all of these faculty as they achieve such important career milestones,” Sobolik said. “They are all important members of our faculty, instrumental in helping UMSL fulfill its mission to educate students, generate knowledge and engage with our community. I commend them all for their accomplishments and thank them for their service to our university.”

Ten faculty members received tenure and promotions to associate professor, eight more earned the rank of full professor, and seven non-tenure track faculty members also received promotions, five to full teaching professor.


Tenure and promotion to associate professor

Jennifer (He) Wen, Department of Accounting

Aimee Dunlap, Department of Biology

Nathan Muchhala, Department of Biology

Benjamin Bythell, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Shaji Khan, Department of Information Systems and Technology

Min Ju, Department of Marketing

Julia Sakharova, Department of Music

Adriano Udani, Department of Political Science

Bettina Casad, Department of Psychological Sciences

Sha-Lai Williams, School of Social Work

Promotion to professor

Michael Nichols, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Elaine Doherty, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Lee Slocum, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Lea-Rachel Kosnik, Department of Economics

Kim Song, Department of Educator Preparation and Leadership

Joanna Mendoza, Department of Music

John McGrosso, Department of Music

Kurt Baldwin, Department of Music


Promotion to associate teaching professor

Alicia Hutchings, College of Nursing

Promotion to clinical professor

Julie DeKinder, College of Optometry

Promotion to teaching professor

Alla Voskoboynikova, Department of Music

Drucilla Wall, Department of English

Emily Ross, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Lynn Staley, Department of English

Qiang Dotzel, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science


Short URL: