Professor to be honored by TV society

Michael D. Murray

Michael D. Murray

The Mid-America chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences will induct Michael D. Murray (pictured), Curators’ Teaching Professor of Media Studies at the University of Missouri–St. Louis, into the chapter’s Silver Circle next week.

The circle honors individuals who have made significant contributions to television for at least 25 years. Murray was credited for his work with broadcasting students, seven books about television and two decades of service on the NATAS board of governors. He’s the first St. Louis-area media studies professor to be elected to the Silver Circle.

“Academics are seldom honored in their own backyards,” Murray said. “That’s why they’re often referred to as ‘outside experts.’ So I’m very grateful to my former students Jim Tuxbury, Frank Cusumano and Amber Berkbuegler for this nomination.”

Murray will be inducted with Sharon Stevens, reporter at KSDK (Channel 5) and Tom O’Neil, reporter and anchor at KTVI (Channel 2), on Oct. 3 in St. Louis


Short URL: