Provost Steven Berberich announces 20 faculty promotions for the 2022-23 academic year

Twenty faculty members have earned promotions beginning in the 2022-23 academic year

Twenty faculty members have earned promotions beginning in the 2022-23 academic year. (Photo collage by August Jennewein)

Provost and Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Steven Berberich announced promotions for 20 tenure and non-tenure track faculty members at the University of Missouri–St. Louis ahead of the 2022-23 academic year. The promotions will take effect on Sept. 1.

“I am pleased to announce the promotions of these 20 faculty members, and they are to be commended for their dedication to our students and their research and scholarship, which transform the lives of people in our region and the wider world,” Berberich said. “I would like to especially congratulate the four faculty members who have been awarded tenure, marking a milestone in their careers earned through their outstanding teaching, research and service. I look forward to seeing them continue to advance in the years ahead as they progress toward the full professor rank.”

Four faculty members were granted tenure, three earned the rank of full professor, and 13 non-tenure track faculty members also received promotions, including two to full teaching professor.


Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Sharlee Climer, Department of Computer Science

Marisa Omori, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Rachel Wamser-Nanney, Department of Psychological Sciences

Granting Tenure

Kimberly Werner, College of Nursing

Promotion to professor

Eike Bauer, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Adrian Clingher, Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Joseph Pickard, School of Social Work


Promotion to associate teaching professor

Amy D’Agrosa, Department of Language and Culture Studies

Amanda Finley, College of Nursing

Jennifer Fisher, Department of Art and Design

Dana Klar, Department of Psychological Sciences

Shawne Manies, College of Nursing

Lynda McDowell, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Johnna Murray, Department of Accounting

Paula Prouhet, College of Nursing

Kate Votaw, Pierre Laclede Honors College

Promotion to associate clinical professor

Casey Hamm, College of Optometry

Emily Oliveira, Department of Education Sciences and Professional Programs

Promotion to teaching professor

Michael Costello, Department of Finance and Legal Studies

James Craig, Department of Sociology


Short URL: