Members of the St. Louis community are invited to honor the Hellenic spirit and to contribute to University of Missouri–St. Louis scholarship program at the 4th annual Athena Awards at 11:30 a.m. Nov. 19. The event is hosted by the Hellenic Spirit Foundation.

Since its inception, proceeds from fundraising events have enabled the foundation to contribute almost $1 million to programs that enhance various educational, philanthropic and charitable causes in the United States and abroad.

“Our Hellenic heritage guides our relations with other people in our society,” said Nick Karakas, chairman of the Karakas Family Foundation and the Greek Studies Advisory Council. “It is a distinct and unique value system which has endured and transcends time and boundaries of hatred and narrow-mindedness.”

Honorees of this prestigious award include: Christina Anastas, Mary Zaman Angelides, Annette Venardos Entenman, Zelema Harris, Nancy Lieberman, Carolyn Losos, Elefteria Marcou, Amy Rome, Sally Roth, Joan L. Sheppard, Sharon Lee Tucci, Robin Wright-Jones.

The event will be held at the Missouri Athletic Club, 405 Washington Ave
St Louis, Mo., 63102.

More information:

Kylie Shafferkoetter

Kylie Shafferkoetter