Steve Tappmeyer, head men's basketball coach at UMSL, will be inducted into the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Sunday.

Steve Tappmeyer, head men’s basketball coach at the University of Missouri–St. Louis, was one of seven inductees into the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Oct. 10.

Tappmeyer is in his first year at UMSL after 21 seasons (1989-2009) at Northwest Missouri State in Maryville, where he produced an overall record of 408-208 (.662). The all-time winningest coach in program history, he directed the Bearcats to 10 NCAA Tournament berths and three regular season and four conference tournament championships.

Tappmeyer’s list of accomplishments includes three Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association championships (1998, 2002, 2007) and four MIAA tournament championships (1989, 2002, 2004, 2008). He took Northwest to the NCAA tournament eight times in his last 10 seasons and 10 times overall. Tappmeyer led the Bearcats to the Elite Eight in both the 2002 and 2004 seasons with records of 29-3 and 29-5, respectively.

He was named Kodak Coach of the Year following his first season at Northwest in 1989. He earned regional coach of the year honors in 2001 and was a four-time conference coach of the year (1989, 1998, 2001, 2007).

Tappmeyer led the Bearcats to nine 20-win seasons in the last 12 years and to 10 20-win campaigns overall.

He came to Northwest after three seasons as head coach at East Central College in Union, Mo., where he guided the community college program to a 62-32 record and was named the 1986 MCCAC Coach of the Year.

Prior to his stint at ECC, Tappmeyer served as an assistant at Northwest from 1981-85.

Tappmeyer played in the MIAA before entering the coaching field. The 1979 graduate of Southeast Missouri State in Cape Girardeau averaged 16.3 points per game as a junior and was an honorable mention All-MIAA selection. He was also an honorable mention all-conference pick at ECC where he played his freshman and sophomore seasons.

The 2010 MBCA Hall of Fame induction will take place at 1 p.m. Sunday at the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mo. Other inductees include Randy Carter (Jennings High School), David Neier (St. Francis Borgia High School), Cy Bradley (St. Joe’s – Farmington; Potosi High Schools, retired), Danny Farmer (Charleston High School), Tim Jermain (Jefferson High School) and Bob Roberts (Cairo High School).

More information:

Mary Ann Mitchell

Mary Ann Mitchell

UMSL Tritons weekly rewind

Fifth-year senior Cyril Henault was tied with Missouri S&T’s Carl Miltun for the lead through two rounds of the Great Lakes Valley Conference Championship on Sunday in Smithville, Missouri.