UMSL sophomore Elle Fitzpatrick (left) was on hand June 6 at the Provincial House to welcome new students (from left) Ashley O’Neal, Ellen Vehige, Eric’el Johnson and Mihaela Stoyanova.

Fitzpatrick is a member of 2011 cohort of The Opportunity Scholars Program, an all-inclusive, four-year scholarship to UMSL that includes an internship at a St. Louis-area company.

The program’s 2012 cohort comprises: O’Neal, a Farmington (Mo.) High School graduate; Vehige, a Fort Zumwalt North High School (O’Fallon, Mo.) graduate; Johnson, an Alton (Ill.) High School graduate; Stoyanova, a Francis Howell High School (St. Charles, Mo.) graduate; Kaylyn Bauer (not pictured), a Wentzville (Mo.) High School graduate; and Gianni Crivello (not pictured), a Parkway West High School (Ballwin, Mo.) graduate.

UMSL created The Opportunity Scholars Program in 2010 to recruit first-generation college students and increase diversity among future leaders in science, engineering, math and related fields. The university selects up to 10 students each year to participate in the program.

The picture, by campus photographer August Jennewein, is the latest to be featured at Eye on UMSL.

Ryan Heinz

Ryan Heinz