St. Louis Public Radio’s website earns station national Murrow award

by | Jun 28, 2016

The major honor is one of many industry awards this spring recognizing the regional outlet for its journalistic excellence.

The last few months have been filled with industry recognition for St. Louis Public Radio | 90.7 KWMU, which just added another major honor to the mix.

Announced last week by the Radio Television Digital News Association, the national Edward R. Murrow Award recognizes the excellence of the outlet’s website, It’s the third national Murrow that the station, which is a service of the University of Missouri–St. Louis, has won over the course of its history.

STLPR national Murrow award“This award culminates an incredible year of recognition for our news and content team at St. Louis Public Radio,” said Tim Eby, general manager. “As was the case last month when we won the Peabody Award, the fact that this award recognizes our work in digital news demonstrates that we are meeting the aspirations we had in mind when we brought the St. Louis Beacon into our operation two-and-a-half years ago to provide a digital experience equivalent to our organization’s legacy broadcast service.”

The outlet’s digital storytelling, investigative reporting, breaking news coverage and audience engagement have grown tremendously in recent years, Eby said, adding that the honor “speaks volumes to the amazing body of work from the team at St. Louis Public Radio.”

Multimedia projects, data dives, non-traditional uses of audio and explanatory pieces were all part of the station’s winning entry in the large market radio category.

RTDNA presents the Murrow Awards annually to honor outstanding achievements produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow, a national radio and television journalist from 1935 to 1960, made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

That team will officially receive the award at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala Oct. 10 at Gotham Hall in New York City.

UMSL Daily

UMSL Daily